Faeries and True Love- some remarks

The remarkable geological formation know as Brimham Rocks, near Ripon in the Yorkshire Dales, is the site of a curious faery incident:

“Edwin and Julia were madly in love with each other but Julia’s father was implacably opposed to their relationship. Finally, when Edwin asked for his daughter’s hand in marriage., her father forbade the pair to see each other ever again. Facing this cruel separation, and unable to contemplate the prospect of life without each other, they decided to leap off Brimham Rocks and so be united forever. The couple jumped hand in hand to their certain deaths from the precipice now called Lovers’ Leap but, by some miracle, instead of plummeting to the ground, they floated gently down. Some said that the fairy who lived among the rocks had witnessed their misery and, knowing they could be happy if only they were allowed to marry, had spared them. Discovering what she’d planned, Julia’s father had to reconcile himself with her love and at last consented to their wedding. The pair lived happily ever after (of course).”

This faery intervention in human love is, in many respects, quite at odds with the common conduct of British faeries. Just within the same county of Yorkshire, they will regularly be found demonstrating their more typical behaviours: often this is indifference to humankind- faeries seen dancing on (or in) hills and inside faery rings at night (for instance at Fairy Cross Plain, Fryupdale, Danby); sometimes, though, there is active hostility. This may be triggered by the actions of a person, such as the man who stole a golden goblet from a faery dance at Willy Howe, East Yorkshire, and was pursued by an angry horde until he was able to leap over a stream. On other occasions, the faery being is (it seems) preternaturally antagonistic towards people, as with the boggart known as Jeanie o’ Biggersdale, who haunted Mulgrave Woods north of Whitby, and who would pursue and kill any travellers who dared to risk passing through her domain.

The Hob Holes, Runswick, by Stephen McCulloch, geograph,.org,uk

From time to time, faery folk will act benignly towards us mortals, but they generally have to be asked to do this: the hobthrush of Runswick Bay, North Yorkshire, could cure whooping cough (if requested correctly to do so by parents). The same hob could also lure the unwary into his ‘Boggle Hole’ on the shore so that they drowned when the tide came back in. The least one might expect from such creatures was a nasty fright (as at the Hob’s Hole near Sandsend) or the experience of being led in circles until you were utterly lost (as at Elbolton Hill, near Threshfield North Yorks).

So, to return to Edwin and Julia at Lover’s Leap, why would the faery haunting the rocks (the ‘spirit of the place’ perhaps) wish to intervene in a human romance? This kind of behaviour seems more like what we’d expect of a faery godmother in a fairy tale or Disney film than the conduct we can more reasonably find amongst the distinctly tough and non-sentimental British faery clans. There are, of course, faery lovers (though not so much in Yorkshire) but their intervention with human partners is quite different from what we’re discussing here. In a much earlier post, however, I noted some evidence that faeries do (at least from time to time) intervene to punish unfaithful lovers and- by implication- promote true love. Why might this happen?

My guess is that interventions like these take place because there’s something in it for the faery folk. Stable partnerships and households in the human world are, arguably, in the faeries’ favour. Given their propensity for entering human homes to benefit from warmth, food and hot water, my suspicion is that encouraging happy families is, really, an expression of faery self interest. Edwin and Julia lived happily ever after in their human home- and the faeries could then raid their larder at night, enjoy the products of their dairy and, generally, make free with their goods, on the basis that “what’s thine is mine and what’s mine is mine.” This may be excessively unromantic and unsentimental, but it makes the most sense within the wider context of faery conduct and morals.

2 thoughts on “Faeries and True Love- some remarks

  1. Hello John, and all,

    My guess is that interventions like these take place because there’s something in it for the faery folk. 

    These words of yours are truer than you can possibly know! The only way I can be so certain is that ‘they’ have affirmed it to me.

    The internet is full of links to Twin Flame and the Twin Flame Journey. When I have been looking for questions about the Fae, I have seen many such questions on this subject with corresponding responses. I tell you truthfully that this subject matter held no interest for me whatsoever. ‘Different strokes for different folks’, was very much my view. It has its basis in Eastern Mysticism and it does make me smile to consider that people who would happily tell you to your face, “Grow up! Fairies don’t exist! You’re an adult, not a child anymore!”, buy into this mysticism. I’m not smiling any more ..!

    Thursday 28th April 2024 I as good as got the ‘tap’ on the shoulder to tell me, “By the way, you’re one of them! You need to get with the program!’. Before I knew it, I was undergoing all the experiences people have on a TF Journey. At first, it is very very bewildering – trust me! One minute, everything in your life is ‘fine and dandy’, the next, it’s all turned on its head.

    Now, here’s the thing. Most human souls on this journey DON’T have their ‘little friends’ to explain what is going on and why – because they don’t believe in them or were not fortunate enough to have been befriended by them. In my case, I found myself caught between a rock and a hard place …

    She, my ‘little partner in crime’, everything you might imagine your TF to be, except she is not human, and a TF most definitely is. I was very much at peace with myself, with my ‘little friends’, and with my existing partner or soulmate. Why did I want the turbulence of a TF Journey. But the Universe, Mother Nature, or Divine Will – pick the term you are happiest with – had decided otherwise, it seemed.

    Over Easter, I was the archetypal ‘tortured soul’ and ‘torturer-in- chief’, it turns out, is none other than Her Ladyship! She it is who is guiding what I read, what I hear, what I see. Every day over Easter is relentless in the way my thoughts are being controlled and the direction they are being sent. This surprises me.

    Normally, Her Ladyship does not like me to take my attention away from Her – be they human or non-human. Yet, here she is, all day, every day, encouraging me to do just that. Eventually, I ‘break’ and ask Why?

    Quick as a flash, back comes the thought (her way of communication), “So that YOU and ‘your traits’ may be carried on to the next generation”. Now, it all made perfect sense! Until then, I had a notion that my TF and I might be allowed to just be good friends for this lifetime. I had already received a ‘picture thought’ which suggested otherwise, and which, pleasant as it undoubtedly was, I didn’t think had come from me. I had tried to brush it aside, but the next day, suffice it to say that when I was thinking over in my head what I might see if I looked into my TF’s eyes (eyes being the windows to the soul), I received a very unexpected answer … In response, my immediate question was Where? Again, a lightning response! Clearly, Her Ladyship had it all sorted.

    It’s not often that a Servant of the Universe will choose to reveal the why’s and wherefores of what is planned. They know our past, they know our present, they know our future.

    I cannot know how ‘fixed’ and unalterable are their plans for the future, but, just as you surmised, John, they most assuredly can have them!

    Phil

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment