British Pixies

I am very pleased to announce the arrival of a new book, British Pixies, which has been published by Green Magic, who also released by British Fairies back in 2017 and, much more recently, The Great God Pan.

This new book is a short study of the pixie populations of the South West of England, of Somerset, Devon and Cornwall, looking at all aspects of their nature and behaviour- their appearance, clothes, habits and tricks. They are particularly notorious for pixie leading, as I have discussed before.

Here I include a poem I found quite recently, The Pisky Gleaner by Nora Hopper Chesson, which was published in the Cornhill Magazine, vol.9, issue 51, September 1900.

The verse is unusual for the view it presents of the pisky/ pixie, which is essentially to treat it as a sort of puck or brownie, labouring on a human farm in return for a share of human food. It seems to do this for love of a human female, an unusual vision of faery in which it is far more likely for a desired person to be abducted into Faery than the other way round. The idea of the pisky being banished by his own kind for loving a mortal is not Chesson’s invention: on the Isle of Man one explanation of the origin of the fynoderee, a hairy hob type creature who works on human farms, is that he was expelled from Faery for just such a passion. The fynoderee is transformed into a beast as part of his punishment; the pisky of the poem seems to have taken on human form as a disguise. Chesson’s pisky is somewhat saddened and subject to human control, very much unlike the bulk of his race, who are independent, carefree and wild (although there are traces, in Cornwall, of a so-called ‘brown piskie’ who lived and worked in human mills and farms).

Chesson’s pisky has some similarities to those drawn by Rene Cloke and Lorna Steele, in the accompanying postcards, which reflect the benign and friendly view of pixies which has tended to prevail for the last century or more. As I describe in the new book, though, though, they are a far more robust- even cruel- folk who treat humans very much as a source of fun rather than the object of romantic attachment. Worse still are those fiercer pixies called the spriggans, who jealously and violently guard their hoards of gold amongst the ancient standing stones of west Cornwall. The authentic pixie folklore is really a great deal more complex, and more interesting, than the tourist souvenir pixie that we tend to encounter today.

Although they only came to wider public attention with the writings of Mrs Anne Bray in mid-Victorian times (Peeps at Pixies etc), the pixies are a distinct and fascinating family of faeries with a longstanding tradition in their homelands and they are highly deserving of close study. British Pixies is out now from all good vendors of fine literature…

16 thoughts on “British Pixies

  1. Hi John,

    I find Pixies an enduring source of fascination. These days, I feel like the ‘cat that has got the cream’ when we are interacting in a dream (it’s usually via dreams) and totally bereft when they haven’t come calling for a while. Of course, I should know better because they are the most loyal of comrades you could ever wish to meet and have stuck with me all these years despite my active hostility towards them – something I now regret as I cannot have that time over.

    Your commentary on the poem by Nora Chesson strikes a few chords with me. The pranks they pull in daily life is a kind of comfort and informs me of their presence, but the dream interactions are truly the icing on the cake. They are like a ‘sugar fix’ and without it, I get the feeling of separation and abandonment even. I wonder if I have unwittingly caused some kind of offence. I see myself wondering alone as a solitary Pixie outcast before the Queen rides up with her Troop in close attendance, stretches out her hand, and I spring up from the ground landing behind her on her mount – ‘happy as Larry’ once more.

    So, being a trooping fairy used to the company and chattering of his fellows, I can understand what a wrench it would be to give all that up for the love of a human female. Also, I cannot but help thinking that the queen herself would be the cause of his banishment. For, just as the Queen Bee is at the heart of each hive, so the Pixie Queen must be the focus of love from her Troop. Any that professes love of another other than her cannot be tolerated. Most likely, only She is allowed to choose and whoever she chooses has to be introduced to her troop and integrate with them. I have recently seen the Pixie Queen and her Troop referred to as a Hive and their attack (something I have experienced) referred to as a ‘swarm attack’. Certainly, I was left in no doubt about the degree of their displeasure and after a stand-off lasting a couple of days, came grovelling back. As so often, an innocent misunderstanding. I sought to block out the winter draughty coming into my bedroom from the garage door – they thought I was trying to block them out!

    They welcomed me back into their mischievous fold by taking me to their home and taking me (half-sighted owing to the diminution of abilities on that plane) to their queen whom I knew by the overwhelming feeling of warmth she showed towards me – totally mutual …

    Phil

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment